Swimsuits…You can scream now!

Swimsuits...You can scream now!

Seriously, why are swimsuits so expensive? You are paying for a few yards of clothing that really don’t cover that much. They are the most dreaded pieces of clothing a person will ever come into contact with and no matter how much we try not to, at some point in our lives we will have to purchase a swimsuit or 2.
Well as much as I tried to avoid ever having to shop for a swimsuit, I was forced to. My amazing sister asked me what I wanted for my birthday and I told her I wanted to go to California to see our family friend. The timing for that trip did not work out so we decided to do something neither one of us had ever done before, experience an all-inclusive in Cancun. After a month of research we decided upon a gorgeous location that was on the beach. Beach location meant we’d have to go on the beach and thus the need for me to find a swimsuit…ARGH!!!
I’m a busty, curvy gal and finding a swimsuit that covers all areas without making you look like an oompa loompa is quite an adventure or should I call it torture? Anywho, I was up for the challenge. I searched in stores & online for about a month to no avail. I really thought I would not be able to find anything within my $20 or less price limit, so I succumbed to the pressure & increased my price limit to $70 or less (don’t judge me, I was desperate). I even found this amazing, tangerine bandini 2 piece by Athena online, the top $61 and the bottom $45. Now you should know by now that the chances that I would actually purchase that beautiful number were slim to none. What is a girl to do?
The shopping gods were on my side when they led to me Burlington Coat Factory. My relationship with Burlington Coat Factory is not a good one at all, hell I hate going there, but I was drawn to this particular location (if you are in the Dallas/Ft. Worth area I am speaking about the Grapevine Mills location). They have a huge selection of swimsuits and the prices are on point. I ended up spending $45 for 2 swimsuits! Yes I know you are saying to yourself, “Jo, the math’s not right!” I know I ended up spending $24.99 for one of the swimsuits (I had a moment of weakness…forgive me!). This is my favorite of the 2 I purchased that day. It’s by Jantzen, it fits amazing, hides all the imperfections, cost $19.99 and to be honest I felt, was and looked fabulous (rule #1).
What I learned on this torturous adventure for a swimsuit was:
1. There really is no need to fear shopping for a swimsuit, because you are in control not the swimsuit.
2. You don’t have to spend an arm and a leg to get a swimsuit that flatters your body type.
3. Even in a swimsuit you can feel, be and look fabulous!
‘Til next time,
Jo

About fashionunder20

I'm a kind of sorta underemployed chick with a passion for fashion, on a budget. I totally believe that looking fabulous is an unalienable right our Founding Fathers forgot to put in the Constitution. That is why I am here to say, "You have to right to be fabulous on any budget!"

3 responses to “Swimsuits…You can scream now!

  1. Rosie

    The one thing about swimsuits is you can usually get away with buying one or two for a few seasons unless your an avid swimmer and swim daily. However for us gals who just wanna look fab by the pool or beach a few suits may hold for 2 or 3 seasons. It’s been my experience swim suits with the lil skirt for us moms who have the post baby apron are a little more pricey. I will have to see what Burlington can provide me 🙂 Great Find Jo!!!

  2. ALWarren

    Jo you look cute in that one!

Leave a Reply

Previous

Follow me on Twitter

