Remember when…?

Remember when shopping at stores like Target, Kmart, Payless, Sears, etc. was a fashion faux pas?  Oh the memories!

My family would shop at Target, Kmart, Payless, Sears, JC Penny for my clothes when I was a kid for 2 reasons, I was a chunky kid & we were a family on a budget.  Back in the 80s there weren’t that many stores that offered clothing for a chunky preteen girl, so we made it a point to shop where I could find clothes that were age appropriate.  Pretty sure you understand the “family on a budget” part.

My sisters would refuse to pay any more than $20 for a pair of jeans for me so I became a huge fan of Chic Jeans from Kmart, I guess you can say that’s what may have planted the “nothing under $20” bug in my brain.  When everyone was rocking Keds, my family would take me to Payless to get some Feds (fake Keds)!  My sisters made it a point to keep me fashionable (to the best of their abilities) at a price that wouldn’t break the budget.  I think they did pretty good.

Nowadays saying you got an article of clothing at a discount store is a badge of honor.  In this age of worldwide budget crises, we should all be proud to wear our “Frugal Fashionista” badge and proudly say, “I got this from (wherever) for (whatever price).”  What makes this journey into the world of being fashionably prudent fun and easy is the fact that many designers are now partnering at these once faux pas stores to create & deliver amazing styles for less.  Yeah for some, but not really yeah for me because I refuse to pay $50 for a dress at Target when I know that it will be on clearance in a matter of week’s maybe even days.  I understand there are those who are saying to themselves, “Jo, that designer’s line for Target is only there for a limited time!”  Yes it is, but if the items do not sell in a certain amount of time Target has to put them on clearance, so why rush to get it for full price when you can get it for less a few week later?

Thanks to those used to be faux pas stores looking fabulous at a fraction of the cost is easily achievable which allows for me to share my Fashion Under 20 adventures with you.  The trick to finding great fashion under $20 is this…NO EGOS ALLOWED!  Bury that sucka and rock your faux pas store fashion proudly!

‘Til next time,

Jo

About fashionunder20

I'm a kind of sorta underemployed chick with a passion for fashion, on a budget. I totally believe that looking fabulous is an unalienable right our Founding Fathers forgot to put in the Constitution. That is why I am here to say, "You have to right to be fabulous on any budget!"

Leave a Reply

Previous

Follow me on Twitter

